Find the nearest History & Heritage
Our History and Heritage category brings all Coast Radar’s listings related to looking for something to do or a place to visit together where they offer some form of historic or heritage based activity.
Finding the best things to see and do on a day out with your family or friends is easy – simply explore the historic and heritage links below, hit the jump to my location button or use the search bar to plan your next UK and Ireland activity.
- Calshot Castle built between 1539 and 1540 was one of the Henry VIII artillery forts, built to defend the coast and in the case of Calshot the sea passage to Southampton. The castle located at the end of Calshot Spit had a keep at its centre, surrounded by a curtain wall and a moat. More recently this was used as a Navy and RAF base and in particular a seaplane base but as seaplanes became obsolete, it was finally closed in 1961.
- Worthing Museum and Art Gallery collections are very diverse. With one of the largest costume collections in England as well as a stunning collection of toys and dolls. A Local History Archive is very extensive as are the Archaeology Collections. The Fine Art and Decorative Art Collections cover different styles and centuries. Please note that not all of these items will be on display at any one time and if you want to see something particular when you visit it is a good idea to contact the museum in advance.
- Montacute House is an Elizabethan (1588-1601) Ham-stone house noted for its tapestries, 16th/17th Century furniture, and Tudor and Jacobean portraits. The house was one of the first to be buit without fortifications but purely as a house to show off. The house stands in 120ha (300 acres) of gardens and park.
- Nunney Castle is a 14th Century french style castle surrounded by a moat within the village. Built for Sir John Delamare in 1373 A veteran of the Hundred Years’ War, Sir John would later become Sheriff of Somerset. It was later the property of William Paulet, 1st Marquess of Winchester, before passing to several owners and in 1577 was sold by Swithun Thorpe to John Parker who only kept it for a year before selling it to Richard Prater, at a cost of £2000. During the English Civil Wars (1642-51) Colonel Richard Prater, who held the castle until 1645, lost it to Fairfax, the commander of Cromwell’s forces in the battle that took place at Nunney. The castle was besieged for two days, but capitulated when Cromwell’s men used cannon to blast a great hole in the north wall of the castle. It was never lived in again. The shell of Nunney Castle stands today, as all of the floors were removed or burned and the roof was removed to render it uninhabitable. Its moat, walls, and towers are still intact. The badly damaged wall finally collapsed in 1910.
- Camber Castle, Until the late 16th century, most of the low lying ground between Rye and Winchelsea was a shallow harbour, called the Camber, protected from the sea by a long series of shingle banks. Henry VIII built a chain of artillery forts along the south coast to protect vulnerable and strategic areas. The existing tower at Camber was incorporated into a new fort built mid 16th century. There are monthly guided walks round Rye Harbour Nature Reserve, including the castle.
- Ightham Mote originally dates to around 1320, and successive owners have made relatively few changes to the main structure. In fact the last major work was the completion of the quadrangle with a new chapel in the 16th century. This medieval manor house is a great example that shows how such houses would have looked in the Middle Ages with the main focus being on looking inwards rather than outwards.
- Ascog Fernery and garden is part of Ascog Hall. Ascog Hall is renown for the Victorian fernery and most beautiful, fairytale gardens on the Isle of Bute. This is a wonderful spot to visit if you’re in Edinburgh or Glasgow as it’s not too far from either. The gardens here date back to 1870 and were replanted over the last two decades to feature some of the original pathways found after clearing. There is a wide selection of perennials and shrubs as well a scented rose garden and other surprises to enjoy like the famous ‘fernery’ that was uncovered as the owners cleared away the jungle like overgrowth. The fernery housed exotic sub tropical ferns – or the remains thereof – and it took a long dialogue with Hostoric Scotlnd who then awarded a grant to the restoration of the roof and restocking slowly took place under the advice of The Royal Botanic Garden in Edinburgh. It opened to the public in 1997. The house is open daily from Easter to October.
- Historic corn windmill, circa 1766, with an observation tower offering picturesque views of the Clifton Suspension Bridge and the city of Bristol. The corn windmill was converted to grind tobacco and it was also known as ‘the Snuff Mill”. After a number of unoccupied years, in the late 1820’s the mill had a large telescope installed into the tower and thus creating the observatory. The Camera obscura is a convex lens and sloping mirror installed on the top of the tower; these project the panoramic view vertically downward into the darkened room below. Visitors can view the true image on a fixed circular table with a concave metal surface, and turn the mirror by hand to change the direction of view. There is also a tunnel 61 m (200 ft) long from the Observatory to St Vincent’s Cave (also known as Giant’s Cave), which opens onto St Vincent’s Rocks on the cliff face.