Find the nearest Piers
When we think of a traditional seaside town most of us automatically think of the Victorian pier. Our Piers category brings all Coast Radar’s listings related to the traditional seaside pier together, where most now offer family entertainment and places to eat.
Finding the best things to see and do on a day out with your family or friends is easy – simply explore the piers links below, hit the jump to my location button or use the search bar to plan your next UK and Ireland activity.
- Cromer Pier is at the heart of the edwardian seaside resort of Cromer with its narrow roads and cliffs. Cropmer has had wooden piers since the 1400s and in the mid 1800s the pier was still just a short structure. In 1901 the pier was finally replaced with a more elegant structure.
- Penarth Pier is one of the last remaining Victorian piers in Wales. The pier opened in February 1895 and the original structure was of cast iron with a timber deck. A wooden pavilion was added to the pier-head in 1907. In the 1920s the pier had enhancements of a reinforced concrete landing stage and an art deco pavilion. On August Bank Holiday Monday 1931 a fire destroyed the pier and the wooden pavilion was not replaced.
- Weymouth Pier is approached by a rather long pathway that runs around the edge of the ferry terminal. The pier itself is split into two, a commercial ferry terminal and public areas. Entertainment includes an amusement arcade situated in the rebuilt theatre. The pier is a popular location for sea fishing.
- The Brighton West Pier, opened in 1866. Now derelict and neglected for many years, the future hangs in the balance, its only chance of survival depending upon English Heritage’s alternative and less costly proposal to restore the pier back to its original 1860s appearance, without the theatre and concert hall. Due to the weather the appearance of the pier is constantly changing and may not reflect the pictures in the gallery.
- Saltburn Pier located in Saltburn-by-the-Sea is the last pier remaining in Yorkshire. Construction started in 1867 and the 1,500 feet (460 m) pier opened in May 1869, with a steamer landing stage at the head of the pier and two circular kiosks at the entrance. Access to the pier was difficult from the town via the steep cliff so a wooden Cliff Hoist was constructed in 1870 that allowed 20 people to be placed in a wooden cage and then lowered by rope to beach level.
- Worthing Pier is a traditional seaside pier that opened on 12 April 1862 and sits in the middle of the beach front at Worthing The pier today has the Pavilion Theatre and Cafe situated at the land end of the pier,whilst in the middle is the 1935 amusement arcade and the southern end pavilion has a cafe & venue.
- Claremont Pier was constructed in 1902/03 and used originally as a mooring for Belle steamers. The pier was designed by D. Fox at 182 m in length and 11 m in width. In 1912, it was extended to a length of 230 m. A storm in 1962 washed a section of it away, reducing its length to 218 meters.
- Birnbeck Pier is unusual in that it links the mainland with Birnbeck Island, a 1.2 hectares (12,000 m2) rocky island. The pier has been closed to the public since 1994. The grade II* listed pier was designed by Eugenius Birch and opened in 1867. The gothic toll house and pierhead buildings were designed by local architect Hans Price. The main pier is 1,150 feet (351 m) long and 20 feet (6 m) wide. As it has abutments at either end, one on the mainland and one on Birnbeck Island. The construction is more like a bridge than other traditional pleasure piers. A landing jetty extended on the west side of the island to allow steamers to bring day trippers to Weston-super-Mare from ports on both the English and Welsh side of the Bristol Channel. The pier opened on 6 June 1867, Cecil Hugh Pigot-Smyth again being the host of the ceremony, the town taking a holiday and holding a banquet in the Town Hall. The toll to walk on the pier was 1d, but this was quickly raised to 2d, the maximum allowed by Act of Parliament; 120,000 people paid the toll in the first three months. A new wooden northern jetty was added in 1872 which allowed the removal of the original western landing place. Another jetty was added on the south west corner in 1898 which reached deep water even at low tide, thus allowing steamers to use the pier at all states of the tide. This was damaged in a gale in 1903, rebuilt in 1909 but closed in 1916. It was finally removed in 1923. The northern jetty had also been damaged in the 1903 storm but was replaced by the present steel structure in 1905. Article taken from wikipedia.