Find the nearest Piers
When we think of a traditional seaside town most of us automatically think of the Victorian pier. Our Piers category brings all Coast Radar’s listings related to the traditional seaside pier together, where most now offer family entertainment and places to eat.
Finding the best things to see and do on a day out with your family or friends is easy – simply explore the piers links below, hit the jump to my location button or use the search bar to plan your next UK and Ireland activity.
- Britannia pier is one of the two piers at Great Yarmouth. Positioned towards the northern end of the resort in the 1850s. The original wooden structure, designed by A W Morant, was a simple structure 700ft (212m) in length and approached through ornate wrought iron gates hung between two rather bland oblong buildings. The Britannia Pier was damaged by the ‘James & Jessie’ Schooner and a storm in 1868. these events resulted in a shorter pier. At the end of 1900 the original wooden pier was demolished. A new 810ft (245m) wood and steel pier was opened for public use in 1901. Over the years the pier has had many fires. The grand pavilion was to become the first victim, destroyed in a blaze only seven years after opening. A second pavilion was built, opening a year later in 1910, but this was again destroyed in a blaze in 1914. Within three months a third pavilion was built. The current day Pier offers all of the amusements that you would expect in a popular seaside town, including amusement arcades, restaurant, bars, funfair and theatre.
- The Grand Pier at Weston-super-Mare in north Somerset has an indoor pleasure park on the pier. Having been twice destroyed by fire, most recently in 2008, the pier underwent a major refurbishment programme and reopened to the public in 2010. Visitors today can enjoy free admission and there’s something for everyone to take part in whether it’s the arcade, one of the rides, go-karts, dodgems and much much more. Choose from a wealth of different food and drink outlets on-site. The pier is open all year round.
- Mumbles Pier is a Victorian pier first built in 1898. At 835ft long, it is an iconic landmark for south Wales, located near the village of Mumbles in the south-eastern corner of Swansea Bay. The pier is currently undergoing extensive refurbishment as it had fallen into disrepair. It is expected to reopen towards the end of 2013 and the restored pier will also include a new RNLI lifeboat station.
- The pier build started in 1852 and was opened in July 1953 and was originally twice the current size but due to a fire in the later 1920’s half was destroyed. The name of this pier is thought to originate from the half an old penny toll charged and the pier was a popular departure point for paddle steamers until the First World War.
- Ramsey Queens pier was built in 1886 and is 2241 feet long. The pier is being restored in sections by the Queen’s Pier Restoration Trust that has a long fight to keep this Victorian pier from being demolished and to enable to be accessed by future generations, please check their website for current progress and to support them.
- Walton pier was originally built to a length of 530 feet in the 1870s but due to shallow water was extended in 1898 to a length of 2600 feet and is the second longest pier in Great Britain. Facilities on the pier include a large undercover amusement arcade at the shoreward end which has ten-pin bowling centre. There are fairground rides and a rail-less ‘train’ that takes passengers to the pier-head where there is fishing.
- Ryde Pier was a group of three separate piers: – a promenade pier (now a listed building) – an electric tramway pier (now gone) – and a steam railway pier (still used although not by steam trains). Pier History Designed by John Kent of Southampton, the construction started in 1813 and completed in 1814. The pier was constructed to solve the problem of embarkation and disembarkation from the ferries. Originally built of timber, to a length of 1,740ft (527m) and 12ft (3.6m) wide. As ferry size grew from small sailing boats then the pier had to adapt. It was extended to 2,040ft (618m) in 1824 and the pier-head was enlarged in 1827. A further extension in 1833 took the overall length to 2,250ft (681m), while the pier-head was again extended in 1842 and the late 1850s. A second horse drawn ‘tramway’ pier was built alongside the existing structure, opening in 1864. This proved to be of little success later to be replaced by electric trams. In 1880 on a third pier adjacent to the tramway pier a direct steam railway link to the pier-head was created. In 1895 a concert pavilion was constructed (demolished later) at the pier-head and over the next sixteen years the original wooden piles were replaced in cast iron.
- Clevedon Pier is a seaside pier on the English side of the Severn Estuary. The landing stage at the end of the pier is occasionally used by ships and is a popular spot for angling. There is a cafe at the pierhead, and a souvenir shop at the toll house. Clevedon Pier was opened on 29 March 1869, partially constructed from Isambard Kingdom Brunel’s second-hand railway lines, 225 metres (738 ft) long and 14.5 metres (48 ft) tall. The tidal range at this part of the estuary can reach 14 metres (46 ft) and the landing stage at the end of the pier has several levels to allow boats to dock at all stages of the tide. The paddle steamer Waverley first visited the pier to take on passengers in 1886. In 1893 the pier head was replaced in cast iron with a new timber landing stage, and the pier head pavilion was completed in 1894. The Toll House on the pier and the adjacent Royal Pier Hotel were both designed by local architect Hans Price. In 1899, 20 feet (6 m) of the decking was washed away by a storm. In 1910, part of the landing stage was damaged in another storm and replaced by a concrete landing stage in 1913. On 17 October 1970, spans 7 and 8 of the pier collapsed during stress testing, which had been introduced in the 1950s to obtain insurance cover, where long polythene tanks resting on the pier were filled with water, to create a pressure of 50 p.s.i. (2.4 kPa). In 1998 the Pier restoration was finished and it was re-opened to the public.