Find the nearest Piers
When we think of a traditional seaside town most of us automatically think of the Victorian pier. Our Piers category brings all Coast Radar’s listings related to the traditional seaside pier together, where most now offer family entertainment and places to eat.
Finding the best things to see and do on a day out with your family or friends is easy – simply explore the piers links below, hit the jump to my location button or use the search bar to plan your next UK and Ireland activity.
- Saltburn Pier located in Saltburn-by-the-Sea is the last pier remaining in Yorkshire. Construction started in 1867 and the 1,500 feet (460 m) pier opened in May 1869, with a steamer landing stage at the head of the pier and two circular kiosks at the entrance. Access to the pier was difficult from the town via the steep cliff so a wooden Cliff Hoist was constructed in 1870 that allowed 20 people to be placed in a wooden cage and then lowered by rope to beach level.
- Ryde Pier was a group of three separate piers: – a promenade pier (now a listed building) – an electric tramway pier (now gone) – and a steam railway pier (still used although not by steam trains). Pier History Designed by John Kent of Southampton, the construction started in 1813 and completed in 1814. The pier was constructed to solve the problem of embarkation and disembarkation from the ferries. Originally built of timber, to a length of 1,740ft (527m) and 12ft (3.6m) wide. As ferry size grew from small sailing boats then the pier had to adapt. It was extended to 2,040ft (618m) in 1824 and the pier-head was enlarged in 1827. A further extension in 1833 took the overall length to 2,250ft (681m), while the pier-head was again extended in 1842 and the late 1850s. A second horse drawn ‘tramway’ pier was built alongside the existing structure, opening in 1864. This proved to be of little success later to be replaced by electric trams. In 1880 on a third pier adjacent to the tramway pier a direct steam railway link to the pier-head was created. In 1895 a concert pavilion was constructed (demolished later) at the pier-head and over the next sixteen years the original wooden piles were replaced in cast iron.
- Walton pier was originally built to a length of 530 feet in the 1870s but due to shallow water was extended in 1898 to a length of 2600 feet and is the second longest pier in Great Britain. Facilities on the pier include a large undercover amusement arcade at the shoreward end which has ten-pin bowling centre. There are fairground rides and a rail-less ‘train’ that takes passengers to the pier-head where there is fishing.
- Penarth Pier is one of the last remaining Victorian piers in Wales. The pier opened in February 1895 and the original structure was of cast iron with a timber deck. A wooden pavilion was added to the pier-head in 1907. In the 1920s the pier had enhancements of a reinforced concrete landing stage and an art deco pavilion. On August Bank Holiday Monday 1931 a fire destroyed the pier and the wooden pavilion was not replaced.
- Boscombe Pier is not a traditional seaside pier. During the 1950s the original pier showed signs of decay and it was redesigned and built in a modern way. A screen runs down the centre of the pier deck against which deckchairs can be placed. This is a positive indication that British seaside resorts can be successfully revamped and modernised. Wayne and Gerardine Hemingway, took on this challenge along with the Overstrand building, a distinctive double-decker block of beach huts.
- The modern pier opened in 1976 replacing the former Victorian pier that was damaged, with the Pier Pavilion now housing a sports complex. The end of the original pier can still be seen 1km out to sea. The victorian pier was the third pier to be built at Herne Bay, opened in 1897. Estimates of its length vary from 1097m to 1147m, putting it second to the one at Southend-on-Sea. Winter storms in 1978 and 1979 caused the collapse of the central section leaving the landing stage as it is now, adrift at sea.
- Cromer Pier is at the heart of the edwardian seaside resort of Cromer with its narrow roads and cliffs. Cropmer has had wooden piers since the 1400s and in the mid 1800s the pier was still just a short structure. In 1901 the pier was finally replaced with a more elegant structure.
- Birnbeck Pier is unusual in that it links the mainland with Birnbeck Island, a 1.2 hectares (12,000 m2) rocky island. The pier has been closed to the public since 1994. The grade II* listed pier was designed by Eugenius Birch and opened in 1867. The gothic toll house and pierhead buildings were designed by local architect Hans Price. The main pier is 1,150 feet (351 m) long and 20 feet (6 m) wide. As it has abutments at either end, one on the mainland and one on Birnbeck Island. The construction is more like a bridge than other traditional pleasure piers. A landing jetty extended on the west side of the island to allow steamers to bring day trippers to Weston-super-Mare from ports on both the English and Welsh side of the Bristol Channel. The pier opened on 6 June 1867, Cecil Hugh Pigot-Smyth again being the host of the ceremony, the town taking a holiday and holding a banquet in the Town Hall. The toll to walk on the pier was 1d, but this was quickly raised to 2d, the maximum allowed by Act of Parliament; 120,000 people paid the toll in the first three months. A new wooden northern jetty was added in 1872 which allowed the removal of the original western landing place. Another jetty was added on the south west corner in 1898 which reached deep water even at low tide, thus allowing steamers to use the pier at all states of the tide. This was damaged in a gale in 1903, rebuilt in 1909 but closed in 1916. It was finally removed in 1923. The northern jetty had also been damaged in the 1903 storm but was replaced by the present steel structure in 1905. Article taken from wikipedia.
- Bangor Garth has a pier, which is the second longest in Walesis 1,500 feet (or 472 metres). Constructed largely in steel, with cast iron columns and screw piles, Bangor Pier comprised of a wooden deck punctuated with a series of elegant polygonal kiosks with steeply pitched roofs, ornamental lamps and handrails, and a pontoon landing stage at the head. A 3ft (90cm) gauge railway for baggage handling was also included in the design, but was removed in 1914. The pier was almost demolished in 1974 due to the poor condition but it survived and gained a Grade 2 listed status. With assistance from the National Heritage Memorial Fund, the Welsh Office and the Manpower Services Commission, the fully restored Bangor Pier was reopened by the Marquis of Anglesey on 7th May 1988.
- Ramsey Queens pier was built in 1886 and is 2241 feet long. The pier is being restored in sections by the Queen’s Pier Restoration Trust that has a long fight to keep this Victorian pier from being demolished and to enable to be accessed by future generations, please check their website for current progress and to support them.