Find the nearest Piers
When we think of a traditional seaside town most of us automatically think of the Victorian pier. Our Piers category brings all Coast Radar’s listings related to the traditional seaside pier together, where most now offer family entertainment and places to eat.
Finding the best things to see and do on a day out with your family or friends is easy – simply explore the piers links below, hit the jump to my location button or use the search bar to plan your next UK and Ireland activity.
- Birnbeck Pier is unusual in that it links the mainland with Birnbeck Island, a 1.2 hectares (12,000 m2) rocky island. The pier has been closed to the public since 1994. The grade II* listed pier was designed by Eugenius Birch and opened in 1867. The gothic toll house and pierhead buildings were designed by local architect Hans Price. The main pier is 1,150 feet (351 m) long and 20 feet (6 m) wide. As it has abutments at either end, one on the mainland and one on Birnbeck Island. The construction is more like a bridge than other traditional pleasure piers. A landing jetty extended on the west side of the island to allow steamers to bring day trippers to Weston-super-Mare from ports on both the English and Welsh side of the Bristol Channel. The pier opened on 6 June 1867, Cecil Hugh Pigot-Smyth again being the host of the ceremony, the town taking a holiday and holding a banquet in the Town Hall. The toll to walk on the pier was 1d, but this was quickly raised to 2d, the maximum allowed by Act of Parliament; 120,000 people paid the toll in the first three months. A new wooden northern jetty was added in 1872 which allowed the removal of the original western landing place. Another jetty was added on the south west corner in 1898 which reached deep water even at low tide, thus allowing steamers to use the pier at all states of the tide. This was damaged in a gale in 1903, rebuilt in 1909 but closed in 1916. It was finally removed in 1923. The northern jetty had also been damaged in the 1903 storm but was replaced by the present steel structure in 1905. Article taken from wikipedia.
- The Brighton West Pier, opened in 1866. Now derelict and neglected for many years, the future hangs in the balance, its only chance of survival depending upon English Heritage’s alternative and less costly proposal to restore the pier back to its original 1860s appearance, without the theatre and concert hall. Due to the weather the appearance of the pier is constantly changing and may not reflect the pictures in the gallery.
- Felixstowe Pier is a wooden pier built in 1905 and designed by the Rogers Brothers. The pier extended to a length of 2,640ft (800m) and was little more than a promenade deck, with railings along the entire length, and a T-shaped landing stage at the head. A large pavilion was at the shoreward end. The pier deck had an electric tramway takeing passengers and luggage to the steam boats. The pier was partly demolished for safety reasons and due to lack of funds looks set to disappear in the near future. Note that due to the lack of development plans the state of the pier could change. If anyone has an update please leave a comment.
- The third Deal Pier, construction on it began in 1954 and it was opened by the Duke of Edinburgh on 19 November 1957. The previous pier was destroyed in January 1940 when it was struck by a ship. The pier is very popular for fishing with a lower deck on the end beneath the restaurant. Charges for fishing do apply, check at the kiosk. The pier has benches along the whole length with only a little protection at intervals along. You will also find some toilets at the end within the restaurant.
- Penarth Pier is one of the last remaining Victorian piers in Wales. The pier opened in February 1895 and the original structure was of cast iron with a timber deck. A wooden pavilion was added to the pier-head in 1907. In the 1920s the pier had enhancements of a reinforced concrete landing stage and an art deco pavilion. On August Bank Holiday Monday 1931 a fire destroyed the pier and the wooden pavilion was not replaced.