Find the nearest See & Do in Guernsey
Heading to Guernsey and looking for something to do or a place to visit nearby. Coast Radar is not just a list of beaches but we bring you the whole Guernsey coast including castles, lighthouses, piers, museums, beautiful gardens, seaside towns, National Trust and other heritage properties.
When on an information page you can also use our tools to search for nearby Guernsey seaside towns, and the surrounding coast for the best beaches and places to stay and eat.
Finding the best things to see and do on a Guernsey day out with your family or friends is easy – simply explore the links below, to find the closest hit the jump to my location compass or use the search bar to plan where your next Guernsey activity could be.
- Sark is the smallest of the Channel Islands, and, despite being Crown Property, is ruled by a Seigneur (feudal lord of manor). It is a mere 3 miles long and 2 miles wide, the north and south parts being almost separate islands joined only by a narrow strip of land. The white, octagonal tower of the lighthouse rises from the flat roofed service rooms and dwellings, the whole complex clinging to the steep face of the cliff which rises high above. The only means of access to the lighthouse is a flight of steps down from the top of the cliff. The buildings, which are made of stone and surrounded by a high retaining wall, are of the sort usually found at onshore stations however Sark is classed as a rock lighthouse. The main function of the station is to guide vessels, passing through the Channel Islands, away from the pinnacle of Blanchard Rock.
- The Seigneur of Sark is the head of Sark in the Channel Islands. “Seigneur” is the French word for “lord”. La Seigneurie is the home of the Seigneur. The formal gardens are some of the best you will see on the Channel Islands. The gardens include:Ponds Woodland to explore Colourful displays in the Chapel Fruit and vegetable gardens Sensory garden Maze Rose bedsLa Seigneurie Gardens are open every day from 24th March to the end of October between 10am and 5pm. Cafe and restaurant open daily.
- Alderney Lighthouse was built in 1912 in order to act as a guide to passing shipping and to warn vessels of the treacherous waters around the Isle. It is sited on Quénard Point, to the north-east of the Island. The Alderney Race, a notorious strait of water between Alderney and Cap de la Hague in France includes the strongest tidal streams in Europe. These are caused by the tidal surge from the Atlantic building up in the cul de sac of the gulf of St Malo with the only escape in the north east corner between Alderney and Cap de la Hague. Water flows through at speed at high tide and is sucked back down through as the tide recedes. An uneven sea bed adds to the turbulance with a number of hazardous rocks located within a few miles of the lighthouse. Alderney has a visitor centre but opening is restricted.
- Castle Cornet is an island castle in Guernsey, also known as Cornet Rock or Castle Rock. A former tidal island which has been one of the harbour breakwaters of St Peter Port’s since 1859. The island is approximately two hectares in area (length 175 metres and width130 metres). The island also has a restaurant, and hosts outdoor theatre performances during the summer months. The castle has the following museums:The Story of Castle Cornet Maritime Museum 201 Squadron RAF Museum Royal Guernsey Militia Museum
- About 1722, the owners of ships passing certain dangerous “Rocks called the Casketts” off Alderney in the Channel Islands, applied to Thomas Le Cocq, the proprietor of the Rocks, to build a lighthouse and offered him ½d. per ton when vessels passed the light. Le Cocq approached Trinity House and a patent was obtained on 3rd June, 1723. Trinity House decided that a light of particular character to distinguish it from those on the opposite shores of England and France was needed. Three separate lights in the form of a horizontal triangle were proposed, and three towers containing closed fires, i.e. coal fires burning in glazed lanterns were erected. These three lights called, St Peter, St Thomas and Dungeon were first exhibited on 30th October, 1724. The lease granted to Le Cocq by Trinity House lasted for 61 years at a rent of £50 per annum. The three Casquets lights reverted to Trinity House (in 1785) and were converted to metal reflectors and Argand lamps on 25th November, 1790; a revolving apparatus was fitted to each tower at the Casquets in 1818, and the three towers were raised by 30ft in 1854. The Casquets Lighthouse and rocks have been the scene of many shipping disasters, among them the SS STELLA in 1899 with a loss of 112 lives and the British Man O’War VICTORY in 1744 with a complement of 1,100. The three original towers at the Casquets are still in use, although only the North West Tower still exhibits a light. The East Tower contains fog-signal equipment and a helideck is mounted on the third tower.
- Herm is an island that forms part of the Channel Islands. Herm is the smallest island that allows day trippers. It’s only one and a half miles long and about half a mile wide so it’s easy to walk across. What makes it special is the scenery. Known as the prettiest island Herm has stunning golden beaches to laze on and there are no cars allowed so you’ll really unwind. There is a hotel there – The White House Hotel – with no clocks, no telephones and no televisions!
- Saumarez Park is the largest public park on the island of Guernsey. It contains various facilities, including a cafe, a large children’s playground, large open grass lawns and a duck pond. A nature trail links the park with nearby Cobo Bay on the north shore of the island. Situated within the park, near the Victorian walled garden, is the National Trust of Guernsey’s Folk & Costume Museum. It is housed in a cluster of meticulously restored traditional farm buildings and showcases Guernsey’s heritage with exhibitions covering domestic life, farming, fishing and sea-faring. In addition, special exhibitions from the more than 8000 pieces of its nationally acclaimed costume collection are on display throughout every season